Skip to content
Buy This GLP
Read September 2026

PlushCare review

Two visits before a prescription

An online primary-care practice where a GLP-1 prescription follows a second visit, and compounded semaglutide is $149 a month at the starting dose.

What PlushCare charges, and what it bills

One row per molecule and delivery route. Where the two figures differ, the struck number is what PlushCare leads with and the figure under it is what a buyer cannot get below. Both are published by the seller; neither is a walked checkout.

ProductPer month6 months
Semaglutide, injectionRead September 2026The seller does not state what happens as the dose rises.$149$894

The 6-month column is the billed monthly figure multiplied by 6. It is arithmetic on published prices, not a forecast of a bill: a real six months also carries dose changes, labs and shipping, and those are covered below where PlushCare states them.

The bottom line

PlushCare's partner pharmacy offers compounded semaglutide for cash at $149 a month for the 0.25 mg starting dose and $299 for every higher dose. The prescription comes only after a second visit, usually once lab results are back, which makes this a slower route than a seller that prescribes from a questionnaire.

Disclosure: Buy This GLP is reader-supported. Some links below are affiliate links — if you start care through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. The order on this page is not commercial, and a commission never changes what we write about a provider. How we make money.

What the figure does not cover

Fees, terms and cancellation at PlushCare

Outside the headline
Without insurance, the initial visit is $129. A membership is offered with 30 days free, and the page does not say whether a GLP-1 prescription requires it.

Pricing transparency

How PlushCare publishes its prices

Compounded semaglutide is $149 a month at 0.25 mg and $299 a month at 0.5, 1.0, 1.7, 2.0 and 2.4 mg, so the rate roughly doubles at the first step up. The cash option does not go through insurance and does not count toward a pharmacy deductible, though the cost can be submitted to an HSA or FSA for reimbursement. Without insurance, the initial visit is $129.

At a glance

Category
GLP-1 telehealth
Molecule
Semaglutide · Tirzepatide
Form
Injection
States
50
From
$149/mo
Dose published
Yes
Prescription
Required
Compounded
Yes — not FDA-approved
Availability
40 states + DC

The seller

What PlushCare is

PlushCare is an online primary-care practice that treats weight alongside other conditions and accepts insurance for its visits. It prescribes brand-name GLP-1 drugs where coverage allows, and compounded semaglutide through a preferred partner pharmacy for cash-paying patients in eligible states.

How it works

At the first visit a PlushCare doctor reviews the patient's medical history and goals, and often sends an order to the patient's preferred lab. Once the results are in, a second visit goes over them, and only after that visit can semaglutide be prescribed, if the doctor finds it medically appropriate and depending on availability and coverage. The page does not say how many days usually pass between the two visits.

Branded or compounded

The compounded semaglutide comes from a state-licensed sterile compounding pharmacy that the site does not name, and PlushCare says it is not FDA-approved and does not undergo FDA review. Its own FAQ also states that compounded semaglutide cannot be prescribed when brand Ozempic and Wegovy are not on the FDA shortage list. That makes it worth asking, before booking, whether the option is currently being prescribed.

Where the money holds, and where it moves

Predictable

  • Dose-specific cash prices published
  • Lab work considered before prescribing
  • Insurance accepted for visits
  • Compounded option in 40 states and DC

Moves, or is not stated

  • Two visits before any prescription
  • Rate roughly doubles above 0.25 mg
  • Compounding pharmacy not named
  • Compounded tirzepatide carries no price

Who this is worth it for

A reader who wants a primary-care doctor, lab work and an insurance route considered before any GLP-1 is prescribed.

Who should price elsewhere

A reader who wants a prescription from a single questionnaire, without a lab order and a second visit.

Priced against

Sellers to price beside PlushCare

  • Amazon One Medical

    Insured buyers who want an approved oral molecule and will confirm their copay

    See Amazon One Medical
  • Sesame Care

    Buyers who will add the subscription to every figure before comparing anything

    See Sesame Care
  • LifeMD

    Buyers who want an approved product and have added the program fee to every line

    See LifeMD
Price every seller on the price desk side by side →

More GLP-1 telehealth sellers priced end to end: FormidableMDFrameworkFresh Day MedsFreya MedsFridaysGala

Sponsored alternative

Bodybuilding Health+

Buyers who want to start without committing a year of money

Check Bodybuilding Health+ availability →

Who priced this, and how

CM
Carla Medina

Access reporter · Figures last read September 2026

Every figure above is what PlushCare publishes on its own pages, read in the month stated beside it, with any charge a buyer cannot decline added back before anything ranks. The rules a price has to meet before it appears here are set out in the methodology. A partnership sets display order on the surfaces that say so and never moves a score — how this site makes money.

Frequently asked

How many visits come before a prescription?
Two. The first reviews history and often orders labs, and semaglutide can be prescribed after the second if the doctor finds it appropriate.
Does the $149 cover every dose?
No. It covers the 0.25 mg starting dose only, and every higher dose on PlushCare's list is $299 a month.
Can insurance pay for the compounded version?
No. The compounded option is cash-pay only and does not count toward a pharmacy deductible, though the cost can be submitted to an HSA or FSA for reimbursement.
Is PlushCare legit?
PlushCare is a GLP-1 telehealth sellers service. Its stated availability: 40 states + DC. What our record does not establish: whether it bills insurance and how its intake works. Ask for those in writing before you pay.
Is PlushCare expensive compared with other GLP-1 telehealth sellers providers?
PlushCare publishes a starting figure of $149/mo. Across the 383 GLP-1 telehealth sellers providers we review that publish a single monthly figure, those run $49 to $449 with a median of $188, which puts PlushCare below the median, toward the cheaper end. The other 31 GLP-1 telehealth sellers providers we review quote only after an intake or price by dose, so they are not in that comparison. A starting figure is not a bill — labs, consultations and shipping are often charged separately, so confirm what your own quote includes.
Check availability

Or go back to the price desk and compare PlushCare against every seller on it.

Before you commit to a price